Best Paper Awards

The Best Paper Awards aims to recognise the most outstanding papers appearing at EMNLP 2021. We considered three categories for the main conference papers, Best Long Paper, Best Short Paper, and Outstanding Papers, as well as the Best Demo Paper. The result is as follows:

Best Long Paper

Visually Grounded Reasoning across Languages and Cultures
Fangyu Liu, Emanuele Bugliarello, Edoardo Maria Ponti, Siva Reddy, Nigel Collier and Desmond Elliott

Best Short Paper

CHoRaL: Collecting Humor Reaction Labels from Millions of Social Media Users
Zixiaofan Yang, Shayan Hooshmand and Julia Hirschberg

Outstanding Papers

MindCraft: Theory of Mind Modeling for Situated Dialogue in Collaborative Tasks
Cristian-Paul Bara, Sky CH-Wang and Joyce Chai

SituatedQA: Incorporating Extra-Linguistic Contexts into QA
Michael Zhang and Eunsol Choi

When Attention Meets Fast Recurrence: Training Language Models with Reduced Compute
Tao Lei

Shortcutted Commonsense: Data Spuriousness in Deep Learning of Commonsense Reasoning
Ruben Branco, Antonio Branco, Joao Antonio Rodrigues and Joao Ricardo Silva

For the selection of the papers above, we thank our Best Paper Award committee, who selected amongst papers put forward by area chairs and senior area chairs (with help from reviewers):

Luke Zettlemoyer, University of Washington and Facebook, USA (chair)
Raffaella Bernardi, University of Trento, Italy
Helen Meng, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Pascale Fung, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
Min-Yen Kan, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Mausam, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India
Heng Ji, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Jianfeng Gao, Microsoft, USA
Ivan Titov, University of Edinburgh, UK
Mikel Forcada, Universitat d'Alacant, Spain

Best Demonstration Paper

Datasets: A Community Library for Natural Language Processing

Quentin Lhoest, Albert Villanova del Moral, Yacine Jernite, Abhishek Thakur, Patrick von Platen, Suraj Patil, Julien Chaumond, Mariama Drame, Julien Plu, Lewis Tunstall, Joe Davison, Mario Šaško, Gunjan Chhablani, Bhavitvya Malik, Simon Brandeis, Teven Le Scao, Victor Sanh, Canwen Xu, Nicolas Patry, Angelina McMillan-Major, Philipp Schmid, Sylvain Gugger, Clément Delangue, Théo Matussière, Lysandre Debut, Stas Bekman, Pierric Cistac, Thibault Goehringer, Victor Mustar, François Lagunas, Alexander Rush and Thomas Wolf

We congratulate all authors!

PC Chairs Lucia Specia, Scott Yih, Xuanjing Huang